Testing the Waters: The Interview

The way we get our news certainly must shape the way we understand current affairs, right? Well that’s what our BCM210 group is determined to find out, alongside how individuals perceive news relevance. In order to understand micro-world perceptions of news relevance, our group has constructed the following research question: How does the way you access news affect your understanding of current affairs, in terms of relevance, e.g elite news VS popular culture stories. 

news2

(Image Source)

I sampled a few of the questions we had devised for our questionnaire with family members to test for any misinterpretations and moreover to ensure the questions were relevant, or if modifications to our questions were necessary. Below is the transcript to what was discussed.


Respondent A
Age: 13-17 Years of Age
Gender: Male
What media platform do you use? I use my mobile phone, TV, computer and radio.
Where do you get your news from? I get my news from my TV, computer, radio and mobile.
What traditional news outlets do you receive your news from? I only really watch Network 7, but sometimes I watch Channel 9 or 10.
Do you use social media to get your news? Yes.
If yes, which social media platform do you use? I use Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.
List a news story you have heard in the past month. Zayn Malik leaving One Direction.
Do you feel like you are well informed on current events? If no, why? No I don’t because I don’t pay enough attention.


Respondent A provided clear and concise answers to the questions provided and however this participant only provided minor insight into the topic at hand. From the answers provided by respondent A, implications of age and generational gaps can be noted as a significant contributor to the way in which news is received. As for news relevance, it appears that Respondent A is more in-tune with entertainment and popular culture news. Perhaps this is due to the platforms this participant has access to.


Respondent B
Age: 40-50
Gender: Female
What media platform do you use? I use the computer, my tablet, TV, radio and mobile phone a lot.
Where do you get your news from? I get my news from the TV, computer and my mobile phone, also word of mouth and radio.
What traditional news outlets do you receive your news from? I get my news from the 7 Network, Channel 9 and the TEN Network.
Do you use social media to get your news? Yes.
If yes, which social media platform do you use? I use Facebook.
List a news story you have heard in the past month. The death of Stephanie Scott.
Do you feel like you are well informed on current events? If no, why? No, I feel like there isn’t enough time in the day to keep up with all the news stories, and I feel that if I miss the one hour of news broadcasted during the evening I don’t really know what is going on. I think that there are too many sources and it’s hard to pick where to go for your news too.


Respondent B was much more willing to give detailed answers to the questions provided, allowing for more insight into news relevance and personal perceptions of news value. By analysing the responses provided by this participant, age is once again a considerable factor which affects news access and thus news relevance. As Respondent B states, the vast array of news sources can often be overwhelming, and it would be interesting to see if other participants felt the same was as this particular respondent does in regard to ‘news upkeep’.

Consequently, I believe that our BCM210 group has picked a very intriguing topic to research. From the sample interviews with my two respondents I am very interested to see the patterns and trends between age and gender and whether this correlates to how individuals perceive the news. By focusing on platforms I believe that we will be able to clearly determine news accessibility and moreover whether certain platforms privilege one form of news over the other. With regard to the questions I provided, feedback has suggested that with a little more clarification and distinct wording our questionnaire will be interpreted effortlessly.

3 thoughts on “Testing the Waters: The Interview

  1. The comparison of your two respondents is quite an interesting one. I believe you have strong questions for your survey, however the way in which they are answered could be made simpler. E.g. with your yes or no questions apply a scale; yes, no, sometimes, often. I think this could really refine the information you receive.

    Nice post though.

  2. This was a very interesting interview, i really liked how you were able to interview more than one person as it gives you more of an idea in what areas your questions were received better than others. It is also interesting how the different responders answered the question about the last new story with completley different answers.

Leave a Reply

