The Marvel Cinematic Universe: A Transmedia Narrative

In order to explain the Transmedia Narrative that is addressed by Henry Jenkins, I have created a YouTube video exploring The Marvel Cinematic Universe.

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is a transmedia narrative that essentially communicates the message of Good Versus Evil. It is transmedia stories like that of the MCU that build and shape the world as we know it and by scattering these stories through multiple platforms a unique entertainment experience is established.

Disclaimer: Please note that this is my first YouTube video, so I apologise for the poor quality. – Melissa.


References:

4 thoughts on “The Marvel Cinematic Universe: A Transmedia Narrative

  1. I liked your video and think you did a marvellous job for a first try so no need to apologise. I liked the platform that you have chosen for your example of Transmedia Narratives. I know it was your first try, but it would have been good to see some more on the comics and a few more examples of how these stories are told, like the cartoons and TV shows made before the movies, games and websites. I spose a good example would be Batman who has evolved over time from the live action TV series, then made into a cartoon, and multiple movies. And that is not including all the websites and Facebook fan pages 😉 Also there is Comicon where people get to dress up as their favourite characters and maybe even get to meet the actors that played these characters. There is so much that has come out of these comics. You have still done a great job however, and I think you did a great job on your video ;)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9d8srLbNih0 here is a link to the 1960’s batman series

    • Thank you so much for your feedback! I’m glad you liked what I have done with the video (it sure was a challenge for my first time making one). At the time I made the video I honestly put no thought into Comicon but now I wish I had because that is a whole other phenomenon to explore. Transmedia narratives like this one and Batman are just so expansive it’s mind blowing! I will check out the link you shared! Thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. The marvellous multiple platfroms of Marvel!
    As an avid Marvel fan, this video was so enjoyable and really well put together (check out my blog if you want to see a horrific attempt at YouTube haha).
    You clearly understand the theory behind transmedia storytelling and how successful it can be if done well as clearly examined in the example of Marvel who have a massive fan base and engagement through the variety of platforms available for them to access, watch, read, you name it, Marvel has probably created some from of interactions for it.

Leave a Reply

