Netflix and the Long Tail

Netflix, established by Reed Hastings and launched in 2007, is a subscription video on demand (SVOD) service that provides audiences with the opportunity to engage with the mass media platform they are using.

Netflix is a prime example of an aggregator utilising control of attention in order to successfully monetise niche markets. Netflix places a significant focus on the ‘long tail‘ market, catering for the remaining population interested in programs other than the super-sized blockbusters. In doing so, Netflix has provided its viewers with an abundance of information, distributing this on a global scale. As Chris Anderson notes, “the future of entertainment is in the millions of niche markets at the shallow end of the bitstream.”

The following infographic explores Netflix as an aggregator and how it uses the ‘long tail effect’ to its advantage.

Netflix and the Long Tail


References:

22 thoughts on “Netflix and the Long Tail

  1. I think you’ve done a really god job in explaining this week’s topic. Applying the relatively complicated concept of the long-tail effect to a distinct example – Netflix – made for a very informative post and made me gain a deeper understanding of the topic. Your infographic is very visually appealing and contains a good amount of relevant information – perhaps the only criticism i have is that it is a little too small to read all the info, not sure if it is possible to make it a little bit bigger on wordpress? I did however find that if i follow the link to the actual infographic host site it was a lot easier to read- just a small suggestion 🙂 I personally love that Netflix accommodates for the smaller, niche films and shows – there is already so many means of getting a hold of those huge films and so i think Netflix adds a lot to our entertainment industry, not just our internet bills haha. Well done 🙂

    • Hi Ashleigh,
      I am glad you liked the post! I know what you mean with the text size on the infographic, I haven’t found a way around it yet on WordPress but I will look into it to see if I can find a way to make the text larger. Thanks for the feedback, I appreciate it! I personally don’t have Netflix yet (I’m trying to hold out until the end of semester) but I also think it is a great way to provide access to a range of films and programs people might not have even known had existed. Thanks for the comment!

  2. What a great graphic to include, it’s informative and aesthetically pleasing at the same time and I definitely agree.. Netflix is a sleepless trap designed to prey on the weak… Students haha

  3. Seriously impressive blog! I can’t even find a way to critique it..
    The infograph was very informative and put ‘the long tail’ theory into perspective. The use of links show’s the commitment to the post. The aggregator cleared the whole idea up for more me very well.

  4. I don’t actually read people’s blogs much, mainly because it’s the same stuff – but the info-graphic allowed me to engage in a more visual context. I enjoyed the link between Netflix and the ‘long tail market’ as Netflix is extremely popular and affordable! i, myself watch BoJack Horseman and that’s about it but as long as people keep paying, they’ll keep slaying other niche markets – eventually monopolising the industry.

    • I am glad you found the infographic engaging! I personally have never heard of BoJack Horseman but it just goes to show that Netflix really does cater for niche markets and is generating success as a result. Thanks for the comment!

  5. Your infographic was densely populated with relevant information to the long tail effect and Netflix as a case study, with the description in yur original post supporting the facts and providing clarity. An interesting take using an infographic, and highly effective in my opinion.

  6. Melissa, after reading through your well-written blog and nicely formulated infograph, it became evident to me that you have quite an exceptional understanding of the topic. Your use of additional sources hyperlinked and referenced within your blog helped me in enhancing my comprehension of the topic. Your infograph is very aesthetically pleasing, holding a good amount of information that doesn’t overload me as a reader. Very hard to fault. Awesome job.

    • Thank you so much Tommy! It is so nice to have good feedback on my post. I am glad you found the extra links to be helpful and didn’t get too overwhelmed by the infograph details. Thank you for your comment, I really appreciate the feedback!

  7. Your additional caption contextualises the info graphic that follows perfectly. The graphic itself is straightforward and informative, I have nothing to fault about it. I did enjoy your use of Netflix as a specific example, I think it is an excellent platform of aggregating content for a niche market.

  8. After reading this blog it has become clear that you have an exceptional understanding of this weeks topic. Your choice of Netflix as your focus is well researched and your infographic is both informative and visually appealing! Well done.

  9. Great infographic – very informative with a nice, easy to read colour scheme! I especially appreciate the use of Netflix as an example – it can do what the retail stores can’t and carry a seemingly neverending stream of entertainment. Top read! 🙂

  10. By using Netflix as your example, I think you did a great job explaining on how the long-tail effect could be used as an advantage. I mean it is not often you see companies being overwhelmed by niches instead of hits.

Leave a Reply

