“You Mention the Internet of Things and Everybody Loses their Minds.”

During 2008 the number of things connected to the Internet exceeded the number of people on the Earth. By 2020 there will be over 50 billion.” Whether these things be appliances, materials or personal technology, physical objects are connecting to the Internet at a rapid pace.

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 11.55.37 pm

The Internet of Things (IoT) was termed in 1999. To qualify, a few criteria ought to be met:

  • an object must have its own network address,
  • an object needs a sensory capacity that allows it to log changes in environment,
  • objects must aggregate information and then take action independently,
  • objects can be located remotely,
  • objects have a human-friendly interface.

sy57z

A fridge could now notify an owner when milk is low, cars can connect with one another in a social network and T-Shirts can share your tweets like a billboard across your chest.

sy5aq

We are living in a world filled with ‘sociable objects‘. Things are no longer just ‘things’, they are now active, engaged and contributing to the society we live in. The physical world as we have come to know it is entirely different to what it was just a few years ago. The fundamental question however: what will the IoT mean for identity, social relations and understandings of place, space and time?


References:

17 thoughts on ““You Mention the Internet of Things and Everybody Loses their Minds.”

  1. Great post and memes! I used a similar infographic (http://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/public/us/en/images/iot/guide-to-iot-infographic.png) but it’s crazy to think that there could be that many devices connected to the internet by 2020. They’re going to have to do a lot of work to make that stronger. Up until this week I had never really thought about the impact these smart objects have on society. Hardly anything these days just has one use now. I get that they’ve been designed to make life easier but it just seems a bit lazy on some parts.

  2. I quite enjoyed the mix of memes to illustrate your argument on IOTs, and the rhetorical question to condlude was a nice touch. It seems inevitable, as with any technological innovation, physical human contact tends to be second choice over the shiny, newer choice. Like in the video in the lecture, where the man chose to watch TV at home than answer the call. If we become so defined by the materiality of our lives and what we use, we will all end up like the humans in Wall-E, passive consumers that allows technology to become superior.

  3. I loved the series of memes!!! It really adds humour and makes your post really interesting!!! Its amazing how everything can communicate online even house hold appliances. What is really interesting is the similarity between cyborgs and films surrounding cyborgs such as i robot. And the notion of IOT. I’m very intereted to see if the internet can handle the amount of connections and how the distributed network will spread even more with inanimate objects as nodes!!! Great post it was such a good read!

    • Thanks Chloe! I am glad you liked the memes, they were so fun to make! I also question the capability of the internet at handling all these connections, it sure will be interesting to see how things pan out. Thanks for the feedback!

  4. The memes that you have created for this blog are very funny and quite accurate to this day and age. I actually remember when a watch was a watch and a phone was a phone. Now my phone is a watch, diary, notebook, computer, gaming console and the list goes on. I had to take it to get fixed the other day and I couldn’t believe how weird it felt not to have it on hand and literally felt completely lost without it. I don’t have a fridge that connects to the internet but I do love the idea that they tell you what you need to buy and some can even connect to your phone to remind you that you need to buy this or that as I am always forgetting my shopping lists at home! Great blog

  5. Hi Melissa, I really enjoyed your blog post. I love that you have included multiple, hilarious memes! My favourite would have to be the first!
    The last meme resonates with me quite a lot. My parents and grandparents struggle to understand the concept of Instagram and Snapchat…imagine introducing a home that could communicate with them! I honestly don’t think as a society that we are ready.
    In the video linked (https://www.oreilly.com/events/velocity/velocity2014/sessions/35164/were-not-ready-for-the-internet-of-things-how-current-technology-must-adapt-first) Bryan Cantrill explains how our current technologies must adapt before performance capabilities can keep pace. I have really enjoyed reading your blogs this semester. Good luck in the future!

  6. Really fantastic blog this week. I love the memes, you actually got a chuckle out of me, well done! A very well research and knowledgable explanation of IoT and great use of examples to highlight your explanation. Thanks!

  7. Awesome Blog!
    I really love the memes that you used it added humour and for some reason made the concept of the topic easier to understand haha
    Its crazy how much technology has evolved and enhanced from years ago, it would be so weird to communicate with technologies
    I would of loved to hear more of your own thoughts and views on this topic though

  8. Great post!
    I like the use of multiple memes and I don’t think I’ve seen many other people do this. It was humorous and definitely adds to the overall post. I think it’s crazy to think that we need the internet so much and I think personally that whenever there is a blackout we all go crazy and people, I know I definitely do, will try to save as much battery on their iPhones or androids as long as possible (even though it still won’t last long) just so they can stay connected to their precious Facebook etc, etc.

  9. Hahaha ;D your first memes is funny >< ! I enjoyed how you shared about the topic. It's precise and you made the concepts easily understood ~

    The IOTs is big now. Many companies and business have adopted the technology to their products. Objects around us become more alive than human already when all connected with the network LOL

  10. Whenever I hear someone mentioning IOT, it simply reminds me of this specific cartoon that I used to watch called Jetsons. Jetsons, which basically revolves around a family and an idea of the future where cars would fly and there would be talking robots to replace our maids was really something special. I mean think of it this way, how can a person living during the 1960’s predict our future to be of that same sort? I find this quite amusing that people then itself could relate to Internet and how this would possess not only humans but also objects in the near future.

Leave a Reply

